Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
MaxSea's Friends
24 novembre 2006

Mike Golding rescuing Alex Thomson

Solo skipper Mike Golding (ECOVER) heroically made a U turn in the Velux 5 Oceans Race to rescue British IMG_4244competitor Alex Thomson. Alex's boat (HUGO BOSS) was damaged and he had to abandon the race.

They both decided to wait until dawn to proceed to the rescue. This operation occured in the extreme conditions  of the southern hemisphere. It took about 1 hour 45 minutes for Alex to reach Mike. They are now both safe and sound on board Ecover, heading to Fremantle.

Alex Thomson said: "It was the most terrifying and moving experience I have ever lived in my life! Since 3 years, this boat was all my life, I would have done anything to save it but I had no choice than abandoning it there, in a pitiful state. I am deeply grateful to Mike for having turned around to save me.

Both are equipped with MaxSea software!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
MaxSea's Friends
Publicité
MaxSea's Friends
Archives
Publicité